GTA 6: everything Rockstar has confirmed, from Leonida's map to Jason and Lucia

Rockstar has confirmed the date, the consoles, the state of Leonida, six named destinations and eight character profiles. It has not confirmed a PC version, the map's size, performance modes or the full cast. Everything here was checked against Rockstar, PlayStation and Xbox pages on September 19, 2026.

Confirmed checked: source: Rockstar Games — Grand Theft Auto VI Rockstar Games — Only in Leonida

The short answer

As of September 19, 2026, Rockstar's official Grand Theft Auto VI page says the game is "Coming November 19, 2026" on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. It is set in the fictional state of Leonida, including a modern-day Vice City, and follows Jason Duval and Lucia Caminos. Rockstar has also named six destinations and published eight character profiles.

Unlabelled source cards and an empty dossier on a dark editorial desk
Synthetic illustration generated for this article.

What Rockstar has not published: a PC version or PC requirements, a full map or its size, per-console resolution and frame-rate modes, a complete cast list, and the full list of text and voice languages. When a claim about any of these reaches you, treat it as unconfirmed until it appears on a Rockstar, PlayStation or Xbox page.

How the release date got to November 19

The date has moved twice, and both moves were announced on Rockstar Newswire.

  • December 2023: Trailer 1 announced the game for 2025 on PS5 and Xbox Series X|S.
  • May 2, 2025: Rockstar moved the release to May 26, 2026. Trailer 2 followed on May 6, 2025.
  • November 6, 2025: Rockstar moved it again, to Thursday, November 19, 2026, saying the extra months would let the team finish the game "with the level of polish you have come to expect and deserve."
  • June 25, 2026: pre-orders opened worldwide at midnight local time.
  • August 27, 2026: Rockstar released Grand Theft Auto VI: An Extended Look, which it says was "captured entirely from in-game footage on the PlayStation 5."
  • September 17, 2026: Rockstar announced Grand Theft Auto VI: The Album, 34 original tracks made with Atlantic Records, releasing on November 19 with the game.

Digital pre-orders can pre-load from November 12, 2026. For the unlock time in your region, see the release time and countdown page.

Which platforms are confirmed

Only two console families are official: PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. PlayStation's store page lists the game as PS5 Pro Enhanced and states plainly that "the game is not playable on PlayStation 4." Xbox lists the game for Xbox Series X|S only.

There is no PC version on Rockstar's page, and no PC date or system requirements anywhere on Rockstar's sites. The PC status page tracks this one question.

Where GTA 6 is set

Rockstar describes the setting as "Vice City, USA" and "the darkest side of the sunniest place in America," with a criminal conspiracy "stretching across the state of Leonida." The Only in Leonida page calls it "the sunshine state" and invites players to "tour a few of the must-see destinations." The resemblance to Florida is clear, but Rockstar itself never names Florida, and Leonida is a fictional state.

The page names six destinations, each with its own "Explore" panel:

Destination What Rockstar has published
Vice City The neon city at the heart of the game; a return to "modern day Vice City"
Leonida Keys Named destination; Jason's and Brian's profiles both mention "the Keys"
Grassrivers Named destination, no published boundaries
Port Gellhorn Named destination, no published boundaries
Ambrosia Named destination, no published boundaries
Mount Kalaga Named destination, no published boundaries

The character profiles add two more official place names: the Leonida Penitentiary, where Lucia served time, and Liberty City, where she and her mother lived before Leonida.

What Rockstar has not said about the map

Rockstar's wording, "a few of the must-see destinations," means the six names are a minimum, not a complete list. There is no official map image, square-mile figure, count of towns or size comparison with GTA V. "The biggest, most immersive evolution of the series yet" is Rockstar's description of the game as a whole, not a measurement of the map.

Fan-made maps built from trailer frames can be careful work, but they are reconstructions. Their roads, borders and distances are estimates, and none of them is an official or leaked map.

Jason Duval and Lucia Caminos

Rockstar's story summary: Jason and Lucia "have always known the deck is stacked against them," and when "an easy score goes wrong," they end up in a conspiracy across Leonida, "forced to rely on each other more than ever."

Jason grew up around grifters and crooks. After a stint in the Army trying to shake off his troubled teens, he ended up in the Keys working for local drug runners. Rockstar says meeting Lucia "could be the best or worst thing to ever happen to him."

Lucia learned to fight from her father. Fighting for her family landed her in the Leonida Penitentiary, and "sheer luck" got her out. She wants the good life her mother has dreamed of since their Liberty City days, and Rockstar says a life with Jason "could be her way out."

The rest of the official cast

Rockstar profiles six more characters or acts, in two circles.

Around Jason:

  • Cal Hampton, Jason's friend and a fellow associate of Brian's, feels safest at home listening in on Coast Guard radio traffic. Rockstar sums him up with "casual paranoia."
  • Brian Heder is an old-school smuggler from the Keys who still moves product through his boat yard with his third wife, Lori. He lets Jason live rent-free at one of his properties as long as Jason helps with local shakedowns.

Vice City's music and crime scene:

  • Boobie Ike is a local legend who turned his street years into a legitimate business in real estate, a club and a recording studio. His main bet is Only Raw Records with Dre'Quan.
  • Dre'Quan Priest was "always more of a hustler than a gangster," and music was always the goal. He has now signed Real Dimez.
  • Real Dimez are Bae-Luxe and Roxy, friends since high school. An early hit with local rapper DWNPLY lifted them; five years later they are signed to Only Raw Records.
  • Raul Bautista is a seasoned bank robber looking for people willing to take big risks. His recklessness "raises the stakes with every score."

What the profiles do not tell you

The profiles are not a complete cast list. They give no ages, no voice actors and no statement of which characters are playable beyond the two leads Rockstar puts at the centre of the story. Rockstar has published no actor credits. Relationships guessed from trailer scenes stay outside the official record until Rockstar publishes them.

Editions and pre-order bonuses in brief

Rockstar sells a Standard and an Ultimate Edition. All pre-orders and purchases before November 20, 2026 get the Vintage Vice City Pack, and digital pre-orders include a free month of GTA+. Rockstar's store says the physical version contains only a download code, with no disc in the box. Store-by-store prices and bonuses are on the pre-order guide, and the item-level differences are in Standard vs Ultimate Edition.

Confirmed, unconfirmed or contradicted

Each row was checked on September 19, 2026 against the page named in the evidence column.

Claim Status Evidence
Release on November 19, 2026 Confirmed for PS5 and Xbox Series X|S Rockstar, PlayStation and Xbox pages
PS5 Pro support Confirmed: "PS5 Pro Enhanced" PlayStation store page
A PS4 version Contradicted PlayStation: "not playable on PlayStation 4"
An Xbox One version Not announced Rockstar and Xbox list Series X|S only
A PC version at launch Unconfirmed Rockstar lists no PC version
The November 19 date also applies to PC Misleading The date appears only beside PS5 and Xbox Series X|S
PC minimum and recommended specs Unconfirmed No Rockstar specification exists
The map is a specific size or "X times GTA V" Unconfirmed Rockstar has published no map or area
The six named places are the whole map Misleading Rockstar calls them "a few" destinations
Resolution and frame-rate modes per console Unconfirmed No official performance table
The Extended Look shows PS5 Pro or Xbox performance Misleading Rockstar says it was captured on PS5
A new online mode at launch Not announced Rockstar's pre-order post calls GTA VI "a single player experience"
A disc in the physical box Contradicted Rockstar Store: download code only, no disc
The 34-track album is the in-game radio list Unconfirmed Rockstar says in-game radio details are still to come
Full text and voice language list Unconfirmed Not stated on the Rockstar or PlayStation pages checked
Named voice actors Unconfirmed Rockstar has published no cast credits
Another delay beyond November 19 No announcement Rockstar's page still shows November 19; past delays were announced on Newswire

How a claim changes status

A claim moves to "confirmed" only when Rockstar, PlayStation or Xbox states it on a page we can link. Silence is not a denial, so a missing detail stays "unconfirmed" rather than "false." "Contradicted" means an official page says the opposite, and "misleading" means the claim stretches a real statement further than its wording allows. Leaks, datamines, insider posts and fan maps do not change a status, however often they are repeated.

Where to check next

If your question is about launch timing, open the release time and countdown page. For the order and content of every official video, use the showcase timeline, and for what Rockstar has said about online play, read GTA Online and GTA+ around the launch. To verify anything on this page yourself, Rockstar's own Grand Theft Auto VI page is the first place a change will appear.

Sources

  1. Rockstar Games — Grand Theft Auto VI Header and story summary, checked September 19, 2026: "Coming November 19, 2026", PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S Supports the date, the two console platforms, the absence of a PC listing, the story summary (Jason and Lucia, Leonida, Vice City), the Ultimate Edition and the Vintage Vice City Pack. (opens in a new tab)
  2. Rockstar Games — Only in Leonida Character profiles and six "Explore" destination panels, checked September 19, 2026 Supports all eight character profiles (including Lori, DWNPLY, Leonida Penitentiary, Liberty City), the six destination names and the wording "Tour a few of the must-see destinations across the sunshine state". The page gives no map, boundaries or area. (opens in a new tab)
  3. Rockstar Store — Compare Editions Compare Editions and Standard Edition notes, checked September 19, 2026 Supports Standard and Ultimate Edition, the Vintage Vice City Pack for orders before November 20, the free month of GTA+ for digital pre-orders, pre-load from November 12 and the code-in-box physical version with no disc. (opens in a new tab)
  4. Rockstar Games — Grand Theft Auto VI: An Extended Look August 27, 2026; Trailer 2 dated May 6, 2025; Trailer 1 dated December 4, 2023 Confirms the Extended Look was captured entirely from in-game footage on PS5, and lists the trailer dates. It does not state PC plans or per-platform performance targets. (opens in a new tab)
  5. Rockstar Newswire — Grand Theft Auto VI: An Extended Look — Now Playing August 27, 2026 Confirms release of the Extended Look on Netflix, YouTube and the official site, PS5 capture, and the November 19 date on PS5 and Xbox Series X|S. (opens in a new tab)
  6. PlayStation — Grand Theft Auto VI PS5 Pro Enhanced; "The game is not playable on PlayStation 4"; release 11/19/2026; checked September 19, 2026 Supports PS5 and PS5 Pro Enhanced status, the PS4 exclusion and the release date on PlayStation. The page lists no text or voice languages. (opens in a new tab)
  7. Xbox — Grand Theft Auto VI "Coming November 19, 2026 to Xbox Series X|S"; checked September 19, 2026 Supports Xbox Series X|S and the console date. (opens in a new tab)
  8. Rockstar Newswire — Grand Theft Auto VI - Watch Trailer 1 Now December 5, 2023 Original announcement: Leonida, "the neon-soaked streets of Vice City and beyond", coming 2025 to PS5 and Xbox Series X|S. (opens in a new tab)
  9. Rockstar Newswire — Grand Theft Auto VI is Now Coming May 26, 2026 May 2, 2025 Supports the first delay, from 2025 to May 26, 2026. (opens in a new tab)
  10. Rockstar Newswire — Grand Theft Auto VI is Now Set to Launch November 19, 2026 November 6, 2025 Supports the second delay to Thursday, November 19, 2026, the quoted reason, and "a return to modern day Vice City". (opens in a new tab)
  11. Rockstar Newswire — Pre-Order Grand Theft Auto VI on June 25 June 24, 2026 Supports pre-orders from midnight local time on June 25, "a single player experience", the Vintage Vice City Pack before November 20, pre-load and code-in-box physical version from November 12. (opens in a new tab)
  12. Rockstar Newswire — Announcing Grand Theft Auto VI: The Album, Coming November 19 September 17, 2026 Supports the 34-track album with Atlantic Records releasing November 19, and that details on the score and in-game radio are still to come. (opens in a new tab)